See-through fabrics and their limits?

Archived Thread
Our site is currently being changed over to the new version. Everything you see is currently in read-only mode. Additionally, the layout and UI will not be complete until all sections have been re-enabled, so please ignore any layout issues (or bland-ness) at this time.
#1 Marthony on 1 year ago

Hello,

I'm thinking to build a Iron Giant cosplay and am trying to think through the helmet; I'll be looking through the open mouth mostly I think. Underneath I plan to wear a black layer over my neck & face. I'd like to not have to have the mouth open all the time, yet still be able to see however.

Link to article & pics about a toy version I'd be basing my design on: [URL="http://collider.com/the-iron-giant-mondo-figure-images/"]http://collider.com/the-iron-giant-mondo-figure-images/[/URL]

Questions as I've never tried see-through fabrics before:
- How reduced is the eyesight if over my eyes, with the black fabric shaded from most light?
- Could I make the jaw a frame covered in such fabric and be able to see out through it, with the outside of it in light (and gray)?
- Could someone please recommend such fabrics and where to buy them?
- Anyone think I'd do better to have fabric over my eyes, or let my eyes be visible within his mouth?

Thanks!

#2 Penlowe on 1 year ago

It depends on the fabric. In general, most fabrics used this way need to be as close to your eyes as possible. Stuff you can see through at 2 inches can be opaque at 6 inches.

JoAnn and walk around holding them up to your face. It's truly a matter of how much you can tolerate.
Most of what may work for you will be in 'dress' and 'occasion' sections. Touch stuff, if it's thin and light, hold it up to your face.

#3 gypsy_girl on 1 year ago